1630 Connecticut Ave., NW Suite 300 Washington, D.C. 20009 U.S.A.

Search
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

COP28 Takeaways: A Fireside Chat with Susan Biniaz, hosted by ELI

January 17 @ 11:00 am 12:00 pm

In December, the 2023 United Nations Climate Change Conference (COP28) took place in Dubai. This conference was unprecedented, because it included the first-ever global stocktake on climate change. There were many important developments at COP28, including agreements at the end of the stocktake to transition away from fossil fuels in power systems and to triple global renewable energy production by 2030.

Join the Environmental Law Institute and Deputy Special Envoy for Climate at the U.S. Department of State, Susan Biniaz, for a follow-up conversation to ELI’s 2023 Firestone Policy Forum about the major takeaways from COP28. Was the conference successful at making international progress toward Paris Agreement goals? What were some key points of discussion at the global stocktake? What agreements did the United States make at the conference? We will discuss these questions and many more.

Registration required by January 16th. The webinar will begin at 11:00 AM Eastern, 10:00 AM Central, 9:00 AM Mountain, and 8:00 AM Pacific.

Speakers:

  • Scott Fulton, President Emeritus and International Envoy, Environmental Law Institute, Moderator
  • Susan Biniaz, Deputy Special Envoy for Climate, Office of the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, U.S. Department of State

Environmental Law Institute